Bachelor of Medical Laboratory Science (BMLSc) Program

Our Sincere Thanks and Appreciation to long-term instructors, whose commitment to the BMLSc Program and enthusiasm for teaching will be greatly missed: Helene Bruyere (PATH 402); Bojana Rakic (PATH 301 Carbohydrates); Mark Scott (PATH 300, 327, 402, 415); Brenda Smith (PATH 303 Cytology); Deb Chen (PATH 415).

An Extra Special Thank You to Kenneth Liu, who took on not one but two courses during the pandemic (PATH 305 and PATH 404). Ken’s care and concern for not only student’s learning but also their overall wellbeing during a difficult year went above and beyond.

A Warm Welcome to New Instructors joining us in September 2021: Joshua Dubland, PATH 301 Lipids and Lauren Forgrave, PATH 301 Carbohydrates; Calum MacAulay and Martial Guillaud, PATH 305 Modern Microscopy; Narges Hadjesfandiari, PATH 404 Histochemistry.

The BMLSc Program, Staff and Students are grateful to all instructors who bravely took on remote teaching in an unknown landscape, particularly new 2020 instructors: Nancy Matic, Dana Devine, Kate Chipperfield, Christine Collier, Sukhbir Kaur, Linda Hoang, Eric Eckbo, Eric McGinnis and Michael Multan.

2021 Graduates

This year marks the 40th graduating class of the BMLSc Program! Twenty-two students joined the Program alumni this past May, bringing our total graduates to 621! We celebrated the grads achievements during a virtual gathering May 31st.

Academic Awards

Vina Fan attained three academic awards: The Professor C.F.A. Culling Bachelor of Medical Laboratory Science Prize for highest overall academic standing of the graduating class; the Eugenie Phyllis and Philip Edward Reid Prize in Morphological Sciences for academic excellence in histology, histochemistry and microscopy; and the Donald M. McLean Prize in Medical Microbiology, for the highest standing in course PATH 327.

In July, Vina began the MD program at the University of Calgary Cumming School of Medicine as a member of the class of 2024.

Justin Chhuor received the B.J. Twaites Prize in Laboratory Administration, for the highest standing in course PATH 408. Justin spent the summer studying immune cells in the tumour microenvironment of the pancreas using mice models in the Kopp Lab at the Life Science Institute. He will be furthering his education at the UBC Allard School of Law beginning in the fall.

The William J. Godolphin Prize for Excellence in Critical Thinking was awarded to Wen Liao. Wen will be starting the Entry–to–practice PharmD program at UBC in September.

Amit Josan was recognized for the Best Overall Performance in PATH 405 Seminars in Current Topics.

Graduates’ Choice for Teaching Excellence Awards

Dr. Sophia Wong, Dr. Deb Chen and Ms. Jennifer Xenakis were chosen by the graduating class to each receive the BMLSc Graduates’ Choice for Teaching Excellence Award.

The Reid Memorial Cup recipient is chosen by the graduating class; the award recognizes an instructor, staff member or student who made an outstanding contribution to the students’ educational experience. This year the students selected Ms. Jennifer Xenakis to receive this award.