View this email in your browser

Welcome to Pathology's Bi-Weekly Bulletin | June 3, 2022

We need volunteers

We are currently looking for Academic and Clinical Faculty Members who are interested in Co-chairing the 2023 PathDay. Faculty who are interested in these roles should contact Genevieve MacMillan .

The Inclusion Action Working Committee, which looks at how to improve the department’s inclusivity, is recruiting new members, particularly Research Associates and Postdoctoral Fellows. If you are interested in joining the committee please contact Suzanne Vercauteren and Genevieve MacMillan .

A big thank you to everyone who attended Pathology Day last Friday and to everyone who took part and helped make the day a success!!

    The students winners from PathDay 2022:

  • Resident Oral Presentation: 1st place: Taylor Salisbury; 2nd place: Suefay Liu; 3rd place: Collin Pryma
  • Graduate Oral Presentation: 1st place: Kevin Kuchinski; 2nd place: Emily Kamma; 3rd place: Jennifer Cooper
  • Undergraduate Poster Presentation Quentin Michalchuck
  • Graduate Poster Presentation: Vriti Bhagat, Jeffrey Boschman, Loulou Cai, Megan Pawluk, Guadalein Tanunliong, Lauren Forgrave
  • Postgraduate Poster Presentation Renxue Wang
  • PATH 501 – Gross to Nano Histology Award Alexandra Witt
  • PATH 535/635 – Pritchard Award for best Graduate Student Seminar Fang Fang Li
  • PATH 502 – MVP Award Alexandra Witt

    Departmental Award Winners 2022

  • Excellence in Education Award: Undergraduate Education and Graduate Education – Dr. Amanda Bradley | Resident and Fellow Education – Dr. Michelle Wong
  • Excellence in Research and Discovery: Early Career - Dr. Ali Bashashati | Later Career – Dr. Honglin Luo
  • Excellence in Clinical Service: Clinical Service in Academic Settings/University Hospitals – Dr. Steve Rasmussen | Clinical Service in Other Settings (community hospitals, rural settings) – Dr. Gerry James
  • Trainee Awards: MSc student - Madeline Lauener | PhD student or candidate - Jennifer Cooper | Post-Doctoral Fellow, Fellow, or Resident - Julia Naso
  • Staff Service: Administrative staff – Lorra Ward | Technicians and technologists – Juliana Li
  • David Hardwick Lifetime Achievement: Dr. Michael Noble
  • Mentoring award: Dr. Diana Ionescu
  • Community Engagement and Philanthropy Award: Dr. Reza Alaghehbandan
  • Most Valuable Player: Genevieve MacMillan

The residency graduation dinner and ceremony for the 2022 grads was held on May 30, 2022 at The Royal Vancouver Yacht Club and was attended by a record 120 guests.

Pathology Province-Wide Rounds

Book off 12-1 pm for every Friday for the Pathology Province-Wide Rounds | Location: (the same URL for all rounds). For Zoom information or any questions, please email Heleena Mistry. Rounds are recorded and available here.

Friday, Jun 3, 2022 from 12pm-1pm: *PALS*


Friday, Jun 10, 2022 from 12pm-1pm: *RESEARCH*

Speaker: Dr. Anna Blakney - Assistant Professor in the Michael Smith Laboratories and School of Biomedical Engineering at UBC

Topic: "Next Generation RNA Vaccines"


  • current challenges in the field of RNA vaccines;
  • advantages of self-amplifying RNA compared to messenger RNA;
  • strategies for improving safety and efficacy of future RNA vaccines.


  • Dr. Dana V. Devine has been elected as The Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion (BEST) new President, effective September 29, 2022.
  • Dr. Michelle Wong has been appointed as the new Assistant Dean, Student Affairs, Fraser, from June 1, 2022 – May 31, 2025, with the possibility of a 3-year appointment renewal term.
  • Dr. Elizabeth Bryce is a recipient of the YWCA Women of Distinction Awards 2022 read more.. .

Funding successes

Aparicio, Sam ORS RPB (GR006329) - Canada Research Chairs Funding

Recognition opportunities

The Faculty of Medicine Applegarth Staff Service Awards are annual awards recognizing outstanding contributions by UBC staff members to the Faculty of Medicine. The awards consist of a plaque and $500 each to three Faculty of Medicine employees – one to a secretarial/clerical support staff recipient, one to a management/professional recipient and one to a non-union technician or research assistant recipient read more.. .
The deadline is Friday, June 10th. If you want to nominate someone please let know Cedric Carter and Heleena Mistry as well.

Highlighted events

Personalised Medicine in Rare Diseases: A Paradigm Shift in Clinical Research? In acknowledging Dr. Burdach as a pioneer of translational medicine even before this term was coined, we are proud to welcome Dr. Burdach as our speaker for the June TM Rounds, where he will expand upon his experiences and career in translational medicine, and discuss topics ranging from the opportunity of letting rare diseases pave the path to precision medicine and novel study designs, the (un)fulfilled promises of high throughput technology based targeted therapies, and the use of new techniques to detect resistance to targeted therapies. read more..